Home Page

Meet the Governors

Members of the Governing Body


The Governing Body exists to help Hywel Dda Primary School to deliver the best possible standard of education to all pupils, by working in partnership with the Headteacher and the staff.


The governing body is made up of volunteers drawn from parents, the community and school staff and helps to ensure that Hywel Dda Primary School is accountable to parents. The governing body has a responsibility for strategic planning, to monitor how the school is doing and to help identify any improvements where these are required.


Governing bodies are sometimes described as being the school’s critical friend - in representing the school’s interests we always try to be supportive, but also honest about where things need to improve!


In practice we meet our responsibilities by:


  1. holding meetings every term or half-term, delegating specific work to three sub-committees and regular visits to the school by individual Governors;

  2. contributing to and monitoring the implementation of the School’s Improvement Plan;

  3. assisting the Headteacher with the school’s financial management, to help ensure expenditure delivers the outcomes set out in the School’s Development Plan;

  4. utilising individual Governor’s skills to the school’s advantage and providing all Governors with training so they can carry out their role more effectively.


If you have any questions for Governors or would like more information, please contact the school office.

The Governing Body

Please find below details of how our Governing body is structured, including the names, categories, responsibilities and terms of appointment for each Governor.


Members of the Governing Body


Mrs Victoria Evans                             Community

Mr D Stowell                                       Community

Mrs G Williams                                    Community

Dr G Morgan                                        LA

Mrs Karen Sadler                                LA

Mrs Sarah Taylor                                 LA

Cllr Andrea Gibson                             LA

Mrs F Williams  (Chair)                      Parent

Miss C Greatrex                                   Parent

Mrs S Dullard                                       Parent

Miss C Chick                                         Parent

Mr C McGregor                                    Parent

Miss K Flynn                                        Headteacher

Mr P Harrington                                  Support Staff

Mr N Payne                                          Teaching Staff

Mrs A Course                                       Teaching Staff

Miss L Lloyd-Lewis                             Clerk

The Governing Body's Annual Report to Parents - Autumn 2022

Principles of Conduct for Governors of Schools in Wales

Anyone wishing to contact the Chair person or the Clerk to the Governing Body may do so via the school.